255DC - broken windshield in rough seas

Ask questions about the World Cat power catamaran!
Jorgegg
Boat Year: 2014
Boat Mfg: World at
Boat Model: 255dc

255DC - broken windshield in rough seas

Postby Jorgegg » Sat May 21, 2016 9:10 pm

I was out on my 2014 255DC this last FRI and got caught traversing back home thru a front that pushed seas to 4 to 5 feet. I experienced a hard landing on the starboard side first and heard the middle part of the windshield crack (latter it shattered into pieces). It's the one that swings out in the middle, the larger pieces were intact. Has anyone ever had this occurred to them? I'm waiting for the dealer to reply regarding the repair and if WorldCat may cover this. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

I'm just curious more than anything since I've not experienced nor heard this happen before to a boater. I've been boating for over 20 years and spent time in the coast guard as well helping many folks out and never seen this before. I guess there's a first time for everything.

FishPirate
Boat Year: 2002
Boat Mfg: World Cat
Boat Model: 246 DC

Re: 255DC - broken windshield in rough seas

Postby FishPirate » Sun May 22, 2016 12:46 pm

I'm not sure about your situation but I have the older version of your boat, a 246DC. I had a situation awhile back that almost cost me a center glass. Like you I was running in some sizable chop but not launching and everybody on board was ok with the ride. We hit one that was a little odd and the hull flexed enough to cause the two outer window frames to separate enough to let the center section to drop in and the the outer frames came back tight grabbing the outer frame flange of the center section. Getting it back out without breaking the glass was a test. The guy in the mates seat noticed it when it happened and got me to stop. If we had kept running with it in that situation I'm quite sure I would have been glass shopping.