New Garmin NMEA 2000 Guage

Talk to us about products and features you'd like to see!
tajon
Posts: 478
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 7:21 pm
Boat Year: 1998
Boat Mfg: World Cat
Boat Model: 246SF, Suzuki DF140, Garmins, 18' tacos
Location: NH and MA coastal waters

Re: New Garmin NMEA 2000 Guage

Postby tajon » Tue May 20, 2008 7:28 am

my console is different. Its not flat all the way across. it angles on the right side backward for the gauges. We'll have to see what happens when its time for new electronics.
Image

1998 246SF, DF140 Suzukis, Garmin 198C, Si-Tex SVS 650, P66, 18' Tacos

User avatar
CapedCat
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 2:14 pm
Boat Year: 2005
Boat Mfg: WorldCat
Boat Model: 250SF
Location: Cape Coral, Florida

Re: New Garmin NMEA 2000 Guage

Postby CapedCat » Sun Jun 01, 2008 10:52 am

Had my first full day on the water yesterday with the new NMEA 2000 guages... 2 4" guages. For my purposes, it appears the best "page" settings are having the "Synchronize" page on one guage (shows an analog pointer that indicates which engine is slower/faster than the other and a digital tach readout for each engine) and the Fuel information on the other (vessel, port and starboard).

I have a few other pages set for each guage but don't really need them often. The pop-up feature for the tilt/trim guage is nice. You can have it as one of your pages and have it set to pop up whenever your trim changes by some percent (you set the percent). When you adjust, it will appear then go away a few seconds after you stop adjusting trim.

There are a number of items you can choose for the guage and you can choose between one and four items per guage, digitally or in an analog format. On my Suzuki DF140s, it appears that there is no actual output for a number of the items the guage can display. I haven't yet spoken with tech support about these, so I will withhold comment until I have the facts. Another minor issue I've encountered is that some times, when an engine is started and the throttle engages before the readings for that engine have been picked up by the network, those items may just continue to blink as though the engine is not on. So far, every time I wait 5-10 seconds, they work fine. Paging to a different page to view different information is easy and returning to my desired page is just as easy.

I'll report more when I know more...

CC
'05 250SF, Suz 140s, Jack Plates, 2 3010Cs w/XM Wthr & Radio, GSD22, Sony, EPIRB, S1000AP, Removeable Baitwell on Swim Platform, 600' on Plow Anchor, 300' on Grapnel, Windlass, 26 Vert Rod Holders total (7 removeable), SMIS NMEA 2000, 1KW TM258

stevepoy
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 6:17 pm
Boat Year: 2006
Boat Mfg: World Cat
Boat Model: 330TE
Location: Warwick, RI

Re: New Garmin NMEA 2000 Guage

Postby stevepoy » Sat Jul 19, 2008 9:48 pm

OK, finally got this working and it was a PIA because my local dealer did not know what they were doing and did not know how to troubleshoot it. Bottom line was that the engine interface cable has a software chip in it that had to be upgraded. I only figured thie out because I got a new gauge with packaging and found a Lawrance phone # for service. It appears that they make the gauge for Suzuki and Suzuki does not have a good line of communication on changes to new motors. They had me send the cables back to them and they updated the software and it all works great. Lowrance paid for the shipping and were great to work with. The gauge works great and can give all the info I need. Hope this helps. Steve/China Doll
2006 33TE, Twin 250 Zukes, Garmin 4212/4208, radar, 1KW ducer, XM weather,Garmin GHC10 Autopilot, Warwick,RI

User avatar
ferg00
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 1:27 pm
Boat Year: 1998
Boat Mfg: worldcat
Boat Model: 266sf
Location: bloomfield hills mi, cape coral fl

Re: New Garmin NMEA 2000 Guage

Postby ferg00 » Mon Jul 21, 2008 10:13 am

Steve, What year and size are your Suzuki's? I just got off the phone with Lowrance and was told that only the 300's give out the temp,pressure and Battery voltage and that mine only gives the rpms, fuel and alternator volts. He also said that the info from the motor for fuel is more dependable then adding the fuel flow and fuel level sensors.

User avatar
The BEAST
Posts: 2694
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2003 11:59 pm
Boat Year: 2007
Boat Mfg: WorldCat
Boat Model: 330TE
Location: Beast Fishing Charters -- www.beastcharter.com -- Miami, Florida
Contact:

Re: New Garmin NMEA 2000 Guage

Postby The BEAST » Sat Jul 26, 2008 5:01 pm

My 300's do NOT give out temp and pressure, only voltage. I was told I need sensors to get that info. It was hard to believe the ECM monitors all these functions but I need a sensor to get it on the guages.
Boat: 07/330TE Motors: Zuke 300 Outriggers:18' Lee Sidewinder-12' Lee C/rigger Navigation: 2-Garmin 3210 Depth finder: GSD 22-1KW/M260 Radar: GMR18 4KW Communication: Standard-Horizon VHF Music: Sony 200W AM/FM/CD, mp3 input, 4 Sony speakers

stevepoy
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 6:17 pm
Boat Year: 2006
Boat Mfg: World Cat
Boat Model: 330TE
Location: Warwick, RI

Re: New Garmin NMEA 2000 Guage

Postby stevepoy » Sat Jul 26, 2008 8:01 pm

2006 250's, Yea the fuel flow and fuel used is right on. The feature I like best on fuel used is that you can add any amount of fuel to the tanks and manually tell the gauge how much you added and it adds it to the total. I get rpm, engine hrs, voltage, trim, full fuel flow/managment, and anything else the ECM can output. You can also add sensors to just about everything else. I give it 2 thumbs up! Capt. Steve
2006 33TE, Twin 250 Zukes, Garmin 4212/4208, radar, 1KW ducer, XM weather,Garmin GHC10 Autopilot, Warwick,RI


Return to “New Product Talk”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest